Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Gone By Midnight , An Eclectic Collection Of Short Stories For The Cozy Lover

I was sent Gone By Midnight a selection of short stories by Joyce and Jim Lavene to read and review. This is a very eclectic assortment of short stories that I found refreshing and delightful.
The first story Aunt Edna, drew me in, sat me down and served me a warm and fuzzy feeling, delighted my senses and had me longing for Apple Pie and the soft surf of the ocean. I love how a well written story can change your mind, attitude and outlook.
Fans of Joyce and Jim Lavene will thrill at this collection of thirteen short stories—many are set in the worlds of their national bestselling mystery series, including the Missing Pieces Mysteries, the Renaissance Faire Mysteries, the Retired Witches Mysteries, and an upcoming mystery novel! These stories contain the elements of mystery and fantasy the Lavenes are famous for, as well as some new things their readers have never seen. Several stories feature characters interacting with ghosts, magic, and the supernatural—the healing woman in “Courtship;” the Civil War widow in “One with the Darkness;” the city girl who summons a wizard from the past in “The Magician and the Sorceress/Accountant;” and the young introvert in “Aunt Edna” who finds her calling with help from a ghostly visitor. Poignant, charming, and captivating, Joyce and Jim Lavene bring their characteristic wit and heart to these stories and introduce each one with a passage about its origin or how it ties into the universe they’ve created. Gone by Midnight is a treasury of tales that will delight the mind and touch the heart from one of the most prolific writing duos of our time. 
Gone by Midnight is out February 2nd and you can pre order your copy to arrive on your Kindle by clicking here.
Gone by Midnight is a busy readers delight. Thank you for joining me for a cup of tea and a cozy short story review. I would love to hear from you so please leave me a comment here or email me at

No comments:

Post a Comment